Skip to main content

Club Sports

The goal of EKU Competitive sports is to provide and safe, fun, and welcoming environment for the students, faculty, and staff of Eastern Kentucky University. Competitive Sports seeks to accomplish this through education of student employees and sport club team members in conflict management, professionalism, time management, and leadership; while also offering a wide range of inclusive sports following current state and national trends via NIRSA.

The Club Sports Program is designed to provide opportunities for students with similar interests to participate in various sports or recreational activities. Each club is organized by students and is student governed with assistance from Campus Recreation. Clubs are designed primarily for undergraduate students, but graduate students and faculty/staff can participate with the approval of the club. Club Sports are committed to providing an inclusive community. Through competition and skill development, lifelong relationships are built while emphasizing healthy lifestyles. 

Club Contact Person Email
Archery Jacob Holtzclaw jacob_holtzclaw2@mymail.eku.edu
Bass Fishing Colton Combs colton_combs115@mymail.eku.edu
Club Baseball Richard Blackburn richard_blackburn27@mymail.eku.edu
Club Softball Sara Vanoy sara_vanoy1@mymail.eku.edu
eSports Stevie Morgeson steven_morgeson1@mymail.eku.edu
Fencing Darrell Ashley darrell_ashley2@mymail.eku.edu
Men's Rugby Charles Abbott charles_abbott7@mymail.eku.edu
Men's Volleyball Nathan West nathan_west19@mymail.eku.edu
Rock Climbing Kennedy Carpenter kennedy_carpenter20@mymail.eku.edu
Shotgun Robert (Blake) Foster robert_foster24@mymail.eku.edu
Swimming Danielle (Riki) Burton riki_burton30@mymail.eku.edu
Women's Club Soccer Rebecca Thomas rebecca_thomas87@mymail.eku.edu
Women's Rugby Hali McCain hali_mccain1@mymail.eku.edu

We currently sponsor 13 registered student organizations, that are identified by Campus Recreation as Club Sports.  Our clubs are all self-governed and operate with funding from team fundraising and Student Government Association (SGA) allocations.  Most clubs hold tryouts during the fall and spring semesters. For more information on a particular club, contact the Coordinator of Competitive Sports or head to our contact page

For information about starting a club please visit the EKU Student Life web page.

All questions regarding Sport Club activities, practices, games or discipline issues that cannot be directed to a specific club should be sent to the Coordinator of Competitive Sports, Kyle Reece at kyle.reece@eku.edu or 859.622.3451.

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/